Educare is collaborating
with Sesame Street in Communities to offer an Early Childhood Educators
day at the Kauffman Conference Center. Free Clock hours and Educare
training. Also, free breakfast and door prizes. October 12,
2019 8:00 am –
11:45 am, registration begins at 8:00 a.m. Location: The Kauffman
Foundation Conference Center 4801 Rockhill
Rd Kansas City,
MO 64110 USA
Changes in child care
laws coming to Missouri this month
JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. -- Last month, Governor Mike Parson signed
House Bill 397 which modifies current laws to protect children in child care
settings. The Missouri General Assembly passed this bill during the last
legislative session, and it contains numerous provisions that will impact
children and child care facilities and aim to prevent tragic incidents from
occurring. These changes, which will go into effect on Aug. 28 include the
unlicensed child care providers, the total number of children in care was
increased from four to six, including a maximum of three children who are under
two years of age. Children who live in the home and who are five years old and
older will not be included in the total number of children in care. All other
children will be included in the total number of children in care.
licensed child care facilities, all children, including related children, will
count in the license capacity, regardless of facility ownership.
unlicensed, illegal child care providers:
oThe offense of providing illegal child
care has been raised from an infraction to a Class C misdemeanor for the first
offense and a Class A misdemeanor for subsequent offenses. The penalties were
also increased to a fine up to $750 for the first offense and up to $2,000 per
day, not to exceed $10,000 for subsequent offenses.
is now required to file for civil penalties, between $750 and $2,000, for the
provision of unlicensed illegal child care. The department must provide written
notice of the violation, educational materials about Missouri’s child care laws
and regulations, how a facility may become exempt or licensed, and penalties
for operating an unlicensed, nonexempt child care facility. DHSS must also
provide the individual with 30 days to become compliant, including attaining
exempt status or becoming licensed. Civil penalties will not be assessed
against those providers who are criminally charged for providing illegal child
is now provided with the explicit authority to deny an application for
licensure if the child care facility is located within 1,000 feet of a location
where a person required to register as a sex offender resides or regularly
receives treatment or services, excluding those provided by a hospital.
“We are committed to working
with child care providers and families during this transition,” said Dr.
Randall Williams, director of DHSS. “Together, we want to ensure that Missouri
children are being provided the safe care that families deserve.”
House Bill 397 (HB 397) was signed by the Governor on Thursday, July 11, 2019.
HB 397 limits the number of children allowed to be cared for in an exempt from
licensure family home to no more than six children regardless of relationship.
August 28, 2019, registered child care providers currently providing care to more
than six (6) children in their home must take action to decrease the number of
children in care to less than six children, with no more than three children
under the age of two. As a
reminder, any children living in the home, under the age of 5 years old, must
be counted in the total number of 6 children in care, regardless of
relationship to the provider.
provider wishes to become a licensed child care provider in order to care for
more than six (6) children, information on licensing can be obtained by going
or contacting the Bureau of Child Care Licensing at 573-751-2450.
formerly registered as Four or Less (FOL) will now be registered as Six or
Fewer (SOF) providers, with this change. Current registered providers will
receive a new Agreement for Services (for SOF) that will need to be signed and
returned in order to remain compliant with their current registration period.
new law, any person found to be operating illegally as a child care provider
shall be guilty of a class C misdemeanor for the first offense and shall be
assessed a fine not to exceed seven hundred fifty ($750) dollars; and for
subsequent offenses, shall be guilty of a class A misdemeanor and shall be
assessed a fine of up to two thousand dollars ($2,000) per day, not to exceed a
total of ten thousand ($10,000) dollars.
If you have
any questions or concerns regarding this information, please contact the Child
Care Provider Relations Unit at (573) 526-3011.
Wanted to share with you that on May 31, 2019, the
Child Care Working Group, submitted a
report (click report) to Governor Mike Parson detailing recommendations for enhancing
Missouri’s early childhood care and education system.
Below are some of the highlights from the recent Governor Parsons:
Proposed Child Care Licensing Rule Changes- **NEW** The Health Dept. now has fingerprinting services available at our Platte City location 8am-4pm.
Improvements to Health and Safety for Non-Licensed Subsidy Providers (In January 2019, DHSS filed emergency and proposed rules related to background screening requirements for child care providers).
Comprehensive Background Screenings Expanding the Show-Me Child Care Provider Search
care providers play an important role in a family’s breastfeeding
success. The Kansas Breastfeeding Coalition is pleased to provide a NEW 2-page
summary of what child care providers need to know to support breastfeeding
families: “Breastfeeding Support in the Child
Care Setting.” It was created in partnership with
multiple state agencies, organizations and child care providers.Supplemental
Resources for Breastfeeding Support in Child Care are also available, such
Farm to Early Childhood Education Resource Workshop
2 FREE CLOCK
This free workshop features agencies that will provide
information on how to incorporate healthy eating and active living
programs into Early Childhood Education Centers and
Pre-Kindergarten classrooms. Learn about curriculum, local
snack options and programs to help you incorporate healthy snacks
and outdoor education into your day.
Last, but not least. If you have families looking for FREE one-on-one health and wellness coaching! Look no further than Score 1 for Health through Kansas City University! A program for families of all ages. Meet with your Coach at a convenient time and location for 7-8 visits (45 minute sessions)